Strong sevens squads announced

This Saturday's Middlesex Sevens looks like being one of the most competitive for years with many of the top sides naming strong squads.

Last year's beaten finalists Saracens, have included French fly-half Thomas Castaignede in the side which will be captained by England flanker Richard Hill.

Chris Chesney, Ben Johnston and Duncan McRea are all proven sevens performers and youngsters Kevin Sorrell, Nick Walshe, Ben Hampson and Richard Haughton will be given a chance.

Alan Zondagh, Director of Rugby, told the Saracens official website: "This is a very exciting squad, a mixture of world class and raw talent."

Northampton too have packed their squad with big-names including pack stars Tim Rodber, Budge Poutney and Pat Lam.

In the backs the experience of Alan Bateman will be included along side the likes of Scotland's Craig Moir and James Bramhall and new signings Luca Martin and Joe Shaw.

Premiership newcomers Rotherham include the exeprienced sevens performer, Dave Scully at scrum-half. He was a member of the victorious England sevens side which won the world title in Scotland in 1993.

The names in the Leicester side may be somewhat less recognisable, as the English champions put the emphasis on youth, but they will be coached by the Tiger's former full-back John Liley.

The Tigers have just completed a pre-season tour to Northern Ireland where they lost to an Omagh side on Saturday 31-12.

London Nigeria, who, like saracens, competed in the Cwmtawe Sevens in Swansea at the weekend, have a large sqaud of players to choose from.

Sarries kick off the competition with a game against a combined Leeds Rhinos Leeds Tykes side, Northampton play London Welsh in the first round and London Nigerians face Leicester.

The competition kicks off at 11.20am and tickets are available on 0207 734 4444 of 01707 664 600 for family discounts.

Saracens full squad is: Richard Hill, Kris Chesney, Ben Johnston, Kevin Sorrell, Nick Walshe, Ben Hampson, Duncan McRea, Darragh O'Mahony, Thomas Castaignede, Richard Haughton.

Northampton's full squad is:
Tim Rodber, Budge Pountney, Pat Lam, James Bramhall, Allan Bateman, Luca Martin, Joe Shaw, Grant Seely, Craig Moir, Steve Walter

Rotherham's full squad is: Howard Parr, Paul Manley, Michael Schmid (Captain), David Scully, Phillip Greaves, Darron McIntyre, Stuart Dixon, Nigel Simpson, Neil Spence, Kevin Pike

Leicester Tiger's full squad is: Louis Deacon, Tristan Prosser, Ben Lewitt, Tom Hayman, Harry Ellis, Toby Nainbridge-Key (captain), Oliver Smith, Mark Meenan, Tim Taylor, Tom Coles.

London Nigeria full squad is: Anthony Hope, Noel Aiworo, Debbie Wilson, Chris Chalder, Susie Richardson, Chibs Ifeanyi, Mike Harper, Kenny Nwosu, Arthur Johnson, Fola Odetoyinbo, Musonda Kasonde, Brian Kelly, Chris Grahame, Faruk Oreagba, Onyemaechi Ezugwu, Ugo Ekeowa, Clifford Hinkson, Bo Hehinde