Channel 4 announces F1 broadcasting team

Channel 4

Channel 4 has announced the presenting team to lead its Formula One coverage, which includes broadcasting legend Murray Walker and four-time world champion Alain Prost.

Channel 4 has taken over the remaining three years of the BBC's deal to broadcast Formula One and will show ten races live as part of share deal with Sky Sports, which has the rights to every grand prix. The deal means F1 remains free-to-air on British television.

Former Williams, McLaren and Red Bull driver David Coulthard, a 13-time grand prix winner, has been signed from the BBC, will be alongside Ben Edwards in the commentary box. Former T4 and X Factor USA host Steve Jones will front the coverage.

Former Red Bull driver Mark Webber, who now competes in the World Endurance Championship, will perform an analyst role alongside former Williams test driver Susie Wolff. Wolff retired from motor racing at the end of 2015.

Broadcasting legend Walker, who first commentating on a motor race in 1948 and started with the BBC in the late 1970s, is also part of the team as a guest presenter. Joining him will be Nic Hamilton, younger brother of three-time world champion Lewis.

Bruno Senna, nephew of three-time world champion Ayrton, is also on the team alongside his uncle's long-time rival Prost. Former Hispania driver Karun Chandhok joins Eddie Jordan as an analyst, while Lee Mckenzie retains her BBC role of pitlane reporter. Alex Zanardi, the former Williams driver who lost both legs in a 2001 IndyCar crash and won Paralympic gold at London 2012, is also part of the team, while Renault driver Jolyon Palmer will be a columnist for the website.

Many of the team members come with differing commitments in motor racing and media and are likely to be rotated through the course of the season, which Channel 4 hopes will keep the product fresh on a race-to-race basis. Its first live broadcast will be the Bahrain Grand Prix on April 3. Like all of its live races, the grand prix will be shown without advert breaks. The broadcaster will also show comprehensive highlights of all 21 races, even those shown exclusively live on Sky Sports.