England call up Odogwu among three uncapped players for Six Nations

Paolo Odogwu has earned his first call-up to the England squad. Photo by Tony Marshall/Getty Images

England have called up Wasps' Paolo Odogwu and Bristol Bears' Harry Randall ahead of the Six Nations but there is no place in the squad for Jonathan Joseph.

Odogwu and Randall join Bath's Beno Obano as the three uncapped players in Jones' 28-man squad for the Six Nations, which starts for England against Scotland on Feb. 6.

Randall is one of three scrum-halves in the squad and is rewarded for his impressive form at Bristol while Odogwu has shone for Wasps. Obano has featured in England squads in the past, but is yet to make his debut.

But there is no place in the squad for centre Joseph, nor Kyle Sinckler who is suspended for England's opener against Scotland after being handed a two-week ban for swearing.

The 28-man squad will be retained throughout the Six Nations -- after an agreement with Premiership Rugby and the RPA -- and Jones has also named a shadow squad, which includes six uncapped players: Charlie Atkinson, Ali Crossdale, Joe Heyes, George Martin, Alex Mitchell and Jacob Umaga.

"This has been a really tough squad to pick and I know there are a lot of disappointed players who haven't been selected," Jones said. "We're really excited by the players we have got, it's a very vibrant squad and we are looking forward to getting started next week.

"We're very grateful to Premiership Rugby, the clubs and the RPA for allowing us to have 28 players throughout the tournament, we're very happy with the number and it's testament to the growing relationships between all parties.

"Ultimately our goal is to win the Six Nations and to do that we'll need to work hard, prepare well each day and take it as it comes."

England squad:


Luke Cowan-Dickie, Tom Curry, Ben Earl, Ellis Genge, Jamie George, Jonny Hill, Maro Itoje, Joe Launchbury, Courtney Lawes, Joe Marler, Beno Obano, Will Stuart, Sam Underhill, Billy Vunipola, Harry Williams, Mark Wilson.


Elliot Daly, Owen Farrell (captain), George Ford, Ollie Lawrence, Max Malins, Jonny May, Paolo Odogwu, Harry Randall, Dan Robson, Henry Slade, Anthony Watson, Ben Youngs.

Shadow squad:

Charlie Atkinson, Ali Crossdale, Tom Dunn, Charlie Ewels, George Furbank, Joe Heyes, Jonathan Joseph, Joe Marchant, George Martin, Alex Mitchell, Jacob Umaga, Jack Willis.