RA release Super Rugby AU 2021 fixtures

The Brumbies led from start to finish to claim their first title since 2004 DAVID GRAY/AFP via Getty Images

Rugby Australia have released the fixtures for the second season of Super Rugby AU, with a double-header to kick off the season and their new broadcast rights deal with the Nine Network and Stan.

For the first time Australian rugby fans will watch all 22 matches live and ad-free through Stan's new streaming sport package, as well as one match per week, including the finals series, live and free-to-air on Nine.

Following the success of Super Rugby AU in 2020, 2021 will feature 12 weeks of back-to-back action kicking off on 19 February and concluding with a two-week finals series with the Final on 8 May.

The opening match of the season sees a clash between old foes Queensland Reds and the Waratahs at Brisbane's Suncorp Stadium with the match to be broadcast live on FTA. Later that evening, the Western Force will take to the field, hosting 2020 champion's the Brumbies which will be played live and ad-free on Stan.

From round two, rugby fans across Australia will be able to feast on every Friday night fixture on Stan's new sports package, while even more fans across the country will be able to watch every Saturday evening match live on Nine.

"What a way to start 2021 and our new partnership with Stan and Nine," RA interim Chief Executive, Rob Clarke said.

"Our players are raring to go and are really keen to put on a show for fans, with Super Rugby AU to light up living rooms right around the country.

"Super Rugby AU was terrific in 2020 and will get better next year as this next crop of Australian Rugby stars continue to develop, and they are complimented by some genuinely talented international players who have since arrived on our shores.

"The 2021 season promises to be a great one for Australians fans with every game in primetime and with the added support of our new partners, Stan and Nine."

RA is continuing to work closely with New Zealand Rugby on a trans-Tasman competition, with plans and details to be released in time.

2021 Super Rugby Draw

Round 1

Friday 19 February Queensland Reds vs. NSW Waratahs, Suncorp Stadium, Brisbane

Friday 19 February Western Force vs. Brumbies, HBF Park, Perth

Round 2

Friday 26 February Queensland Reds vs. Melbourne Rebels, Suncorp Stadium, Brisbane

Saturday 27 February Brumbies vs. NSW Waratahs, GIO Stadium, Canberra

Round 3

Friday 5 March NSW Waratahs vs. Western Force, Venue TBC

Saturday 6 March Melbourne Rebels vs. Brumbies, AAMI Park, Melbourne

Round 4

Friday 12 March Western Force vs. Melbourne Rebels, HBF Park, Perth

Saturday 13 March Brumbies vs. Queensland Reds, GIO Stadium, Canberra

Round 5

Friday 19 March Melbourne Rebels vs. NSW Waratahs, AAMI Park, Melbourne

Saturday 20 March Queensland Reds v Western Force, Suncorp Stadium, Brisbane

Round 6

Friday 26 March Brumbies vs. Western Force, GIO Stadium, Canberra

Saturday 27 March NSW Waratahs vs. Queensland Reds, Venue TBC

Round 7

Friday 2 April NSW Waratahs vs. Brumbies, Venue TBC

Saturday 3 April Melbourne Rebels vs. Queensland Reds, AAMI Park, Melbourne

Round 8

Friday 9 April Melbourne Rebels vs. Western Force, AAMI Park, Melbourne

Saturday 10 April Queensland Reds vs. Brumbies, Suncorp Stadium, Brisbane

Round 9

Friday 16 April Brumbies vs. Melbourne Rebels, GIO Stadium, Canberra

Saturday 17 April Western Force vs. NSW Waratahs, HBF Park, Perth

Round 10

Friday 23 April Western Force vs. Queensland Reds, HBF Park, Perth

Saturday 24 April NSW Waratahs vs. Melbourne Rebels, Venue TBC

Qualifying Final

Saturday 1 May


Saturday 8 May