Bledisloe Cup All Blacks retain Mo'unga-Barrett combination

All Blacks coach Ian Foster has stuck by the same playmaking combination used at last year's Rugby World Cup, selecting Richie Mo'unga and Beauden Barrett at fly-half and fullback respectively for the Bledisloe Cup opener.

Foster revealed his matchday 23 on Friday morning, with Barrett's brother, Jordie, chosen on the right wing despite a standout Super Rugby Aotearoa campaign at fullback.

Rieko Ioane is back in the starting XV following a strong transition to outside centre with the Blues, Jack Goodhue retaining his spot in the midfield from last year's World Cup.

Up front, Ardie Savea has shifted from the side of the scrum to No. 8, replacing retired former skipper Kieran Read, while Shannon Frizell is back in the Test frame at No. 6.

Patrick Tuipulotu joins Sam Whitelock in the second-row following a brilliant Super Rugby Aotearoa season while Codie Taylor has edged Dane Coles for the contentious hooking role, the Crusaders rake joined in the front-row by Ofa Tuungafasi and veteran Joe Moody.

"We really wanted to see how players adapted and fitted in and how comfortable they were coming back into the environment and so there were a number of positions that we wanted to keep an open mind about," All Blacks coach Ian Foster said.

"We're excited by the group. There's a lot of talent in there and we've got players jumping out of their skin and wanting an opportunity. It's been fantastic to come together and know at the end of the week there's a Test match. There's been a lot of hard work, but the tightness of the group and the desire and the excitement about playing an international game is right up there."

There are three new faces on the bench, with Blues duo Caleb Clarke and Hoskins Sotutu, and Chiefs bolter Tupou Vaa'i, all set to make their Test debuts if called upon on Sunday afternoon.

New Zealand: Beauden Barrett, Jordie Barrett, Rieko Ioane, Jack Goodhue, George Bridge, Richie Mo'unga, Aaron Smith, Ardie Savea, Sam Cane (captain), Shannon Frizell, Sam Whitelock, Patrick Tuipulotu, Ofa Tuungafasi, Codie Taylor, Joe Moody

Replacements: Dane Coles, Karl Tu'inukuafe, Nepo Laulala, Tupou Vaa'i, Hoskins Sotutu, TJ Perenara, Anton Lienert-Brown, Caleb Clarke