Manu Tuilagi returns to England squad to face New Zealand

Manu Tuilagi during an England training session in Portugal. David Rogers/Getty Images

Manu Tuilagi will return to the England squad after being included in Eddie Jones' 25-man squad to face New Zealand on Saturday at Twickenham.

Tuilagi, 27, has not played for England in two-and-a-half years, and last started in 2014, due to injury problems but has been looking good of late although he pulled out of the South Africa game with a groin strain.

His performance against the All Blacks in 2012 inspired a 38-12 victory that sent Twickenham into delirium.

Lock Courtney Lawes, who along with Tuilagi missed the 12-11 victory over South Africa last Saturday, was also in the squad to face the All Blacks.

England flanker Tom Curry was ruled out of the remaining November internationals Tuesday due to an ankle injury.

The Rugby Football Union (RFU) said Curry would remain in camp for further assessment of his ankle. Forwards coach Steve Borthwick said earlier the injury had ruled him out of the three remaining games.

Curry, 20, was the latest in a long line of players tasked with filling the openside flanker role and enhanced his reputation with three excellent displays in the 2-1 series defeat in South Africa in June.

He kept his place for last Saturday's match against the Springboks but looked in a good deal of pain when limping off two minutes into the second half.

Sam Underhill is a likely replacement against the All Blacks but Mark Wilson, who was named man-of-the-match against the Springboks having started at number eight and switched to the flank in the second half, is another option.

After the test match against New Zealand, England will then face Japan and Australia across consecutive weekends.

England squad to face New Zealand:

Forwards: Charlie Ewels, Jamie George, Dylan Hartley, Alec Hepburn, Maro Itoje, George Kruis, Courtney Lawes, Zach Mercer, Ben Moon, Brad Shields, Kyle Sinckler, Sam Underhill, Harry Williams, Mark Wilson.

Backs: Chris Ashton, Danny Care, Elliot Daly, Owen Farrell, George Ford, Jonny May, Jack Nowell, Henry Slade, Ben Te'o, Manu Tuilagi, Ben Youngs.