Telusa Veainu wins RPA POTY, Marcus Smith and Sir Clive Woodward also honoured

Leicester Tigers' Telusa Veainu won the players' POTY award. Henry Browne/Getty Images

Leicester Tigers fullback Telusa Veainu has been named player of the year by his peers at a glitzy awards dinner in central London.

Veainu, 27, who scored seven tries in 18 Aviva Premiership appearances this season, beat off competition from Don Armand, Niki Goneva, Sam Simmonds and Sinoti Sinoti to pick up the Rugby Players' Association (RPA) gong.

Harlequins fly-half Marcus Smith, 19, was another big winner on the night as his breakthrough campaign was rewarded with the young player of the year award.

"It's an enormous privilege to win this award," Veainu said. "I am very surprised but also very thankful for the awesome support shown by my peers. I must give credit to my Leicester teammates and coaching staff.

"Rugby is obviously a team sport and while these individual awards are very humbling, it takes 14 other guys to do their jobs on the pitch to allow me to play my best. Without their support I wouldn't be where I am today."

Other notable award winners on the night included England Men's POTY Mako Vunipola, Danielle Waterman -- who picked up the top accolade in the women's game -- and 2003 Rugby World Cup-winning coach Sir Clive Woodward, who was inducted into the RPA Hall of Fame.

Full list of winners

Players' POTY: Telusa Veainu (Leicester Tigers)

Sanlam Young POTY: Marcus Smith (Harlequins)

England Men's POTY: Mako Vunipola (Saracens)

England Women's POTY: Danielle Waterman (Wasps)

England Men's Sevens POTY: Ruaridh McConnochie

England Women's Sevens POTY: Alex Matthews

Greene King IPA POTY: Michael Le Bourgeois (Bedford Blues)

Personal Development Programme Award: Chris Wyles (Saracens)

Special Merit Award: Ian Robertson

Blyth Spirit Award: Doddie Weir & Ed Jackson

Hall of Fame: Sir Clive Woodward