Eddie Jones releases 10 players from England training squad

Richard Heathcote/Getty Images

Jonathan Joseph appears set to start England's Six Nations opener against Scotland after Elliot Daly was among the players sent back to their clubs.

Joseph and Daly were competing for the outside centre position at Murrayfield on Feb. 6 but the Wasps back is one of 10 who will be in Aviva Premiership action this weekend.

Three players are on course to make their Test debuts in Edinburgh after prop Paul Hill, back row Jack Clifford and centre Ollie Devoto were named in the 23 retained at the squad's Surrey training base.

Clifford has won the race to offer back-row cover from the bench, with Josh Beaumont, Matt Kvesic and Maro Itoje also departing for their clubs.

Joe Launchbury and George Kruis are favourites to form the second-row partnership with Courtney Lawes likely to be included among the replacements, resulting in Itoje's departure.

Head coach Eddie Jones is thought to favour George Ford at fly-half and Owen Farrell at inside centre, so Devoto has been retained to provide midfield cover at 12.

In total there are 12 survivors from the matchday squad toppled 33-13 by Australia in October, a result that sealed England's World Cup demise.

England name their starting XV to face Scotland on Thursday week.

The 23 players retained by England are:


Dan Cole (Leicester Tigers), Jack Clifford (Harlequins), Jamie George (Saracens), Dylan Hartley (Northampton Saints), James Haskell (Wasps), Paul Hill (Northampton Saints), George Kruis (Saracens), Joe Launchbury (Wasps), Courtney Lawes (Northampton Saints), Joe Marler (Harlequins), Chris Robshaw (Harlequins), Billy Vunipola (Saracens), Mako Vunipola (Saracens).


Mike Brown (Harlequins), Danny Care (Harlequins), Ollie Devoto (Bath Rugby), Owen Farrell (Saracens), George Ford (Bath Rugby), Alex Goode (Saracens), Jonathan Joseph (Bath Rugby), Jack Nowell (Exeter Chiefs), Anthony Watson (Bath Rugby), Ben Youngs (Leicester Tigers).

The following 10 players have been released back to their clubs by Eddie Jones:

Josh Beaumont (Sale Sharks), Luke Cowan-Dickie (Exeter Chiefs), Maro Itoje (Saracens), Matt Kvesic (Gloucester Rugby), Matt Mullan (Wasps), Henry Thomas (Bath Rugby), Elliot Daly (Wasps), Sam Hill (Exeter Chiefs), Semesa Rokoduguni (Bath Rugby), Marland Yarde (Harlequins).