Schedule for Americas Rugby Championship unveiled

Argentina finished third in the Rugby World Cup and will play in the new Americas tournament Gabriel Rossi/LatinContent/Getty Images

The schedule for the inaugural 'Americas Rugby Championship' has been announced - a tournament that will be played while Europe's top teams contest the Six Nations.

The format sees the United States, Argentina, Canada, Chile, Brazil and Uruguay face each other across six rounds in February and March. The tournament will be played under the guidance of the Americas Rugby Association and gives the six sides five extra Tests on an annual basis.

"We are delighted to be able to announce the inaugural Americas Rugby Championship that will take place next year," said Americas Rugby Chairman Agustín Pichot. "This could not have happened without the hard work and cooperation of all six rugby unions involved.

"We would also like to thank World Rugby for their support. This is a very exciting time for the Americas, with our first truly international tournament, as rugby continues to thrive and prosper in this region."

The tournament kicks off on February 6 with the USA facing Argentina in Houston, Canada hosting Uruguay in British Columbia and Chile playing Brazil in Santiago. The USA then host Canada in Austin and Chile at Ft. Lauderdale in rounds two and three before travelling to Brazil and Uruguay.

"The response to the announcement of the Americas Rugby Championship earlier this year reached a fever pitch and we're excited to reveal the locations of our three home matches," USA Rugby CEO Nigel Melville said. "Texas has welcomed the Eagles with open arms in the recent past and it's great to be taking the Eagles back to Florida. The development of a Panamerican competition is a significant step forward for the future of rugby in the Americas."