Tottenham striker Harry Kane scores 100th Premier League goal

Tottenham striker Harry Kane became the second fastest player in Premier League history to reach 100 goals with a penalty against Liverpool.

Kane scored the spot-kick in added time as Spurs twice came from behind to earn an unlikely point at Anfield. He had seen Liverpool goalkeeper Loris Karius save an earlier penalty.

After the game Kane told Sky Sports : "I was praying [I would get the second chance]. You don't expect to especially when it's deep into stoppage time but thankfully I got the second chance and I'm delighted to get my 100th goal in the Premier League.

"It's great to be in that 100 club. It was nice to get something out of the game after a roller coaster of emotions."

He becomes the 27th player to join the "100 club" with only the division's record goal scorer Alan Shearer quicker to the milestone, having reached it in 124 appearances.

Kane's century came in his 141st appearance, fewer than Manchester City's Sergio Aguero (147) and Arsenal legends Thierry Henry (160) and Ian Wright (178).

The Spurs forward, who is just 24, finished 2017 as the highest scorer in elite European football with 56 goals, more than La Liga duo Cristiano Ronaldo and Lionel Messi, one of whom has been top in every calendar year since 2009.

Kane also broke Shearer's 22-year-old record for Premier League goals in a calendar year after back-to-back hat tricks against Burnley and Saints took him onto 39 in 2017.

The striker, who is already Spurs' top scorer in the Premier League, has said he would like to break Shearer's overall record of 260 goals in the division and Jimmy Greaves' Spurs record of 266 in all competitions.

Kane has now scored 129 goals for Tottenham. Teddy Sheringham previously held the club's Premier League goalscoring record. His goals came in 236 games, with Robbie Keane and Jermain Defoe scoring 91 apiece for Spurs in 238 and 276 respectively.

Kane has now passed 20 Premier League goals for the fourth consecutive campaign, a feat only previously achieved by Shearer, between 1993 and 1997, and Thierry Henry for five seasons between 2001 and 2006.

Information from the Press Association was used in this report.