Bafana Bafana recall Bongani Zungu, Keagan Dolly for AFCON qualifier vs. Libya

Bongani Zungu of South Africa Sydney Mahlangu /BackpagePix

South Africa coach Stuart Baxter has recalled France-based midfielders Bongani Zungu and Keagan Dolly in naming his Bafana Bafana squad for their final Africa Cup of Nations Group E qualifier against Libya.

The former Mamelodi Sundowns stars have each been absent since they sustained serious injuries playing for their Ligue 1 clubs in September, Zungu spraining an anterior cruciate ligament and Dolly fracturing a tibia.

"It's good to have almost everyone back on board because there is no doubt how crucial this match is - no one needs a reminder of that," Baxter said.

South Africa are second in Group E, two points ahead of Libya, and they need only to draw the fixture in Sfax, Tunisia, to secure AFCON qualification alongside Nigeria. The Super Eagles have 10 points ahead of their final qualifier against the Seychelles.

"We are well aware of what we need to do - the mission is clear, win your match and you are safe," Baxter said.

"It is very dangerous to play for draw as it can come back to bite you. The match will dictate how we handle things but our approach from the onset is to go out there and win the match."

Bafana have two wins -- against Nigeria and the Seychelles -- and three draws from their five qualifiers. The would have secured qualification for the AFCON finals in Egypt already had they not drawn 0-0 against Seychelles in October.

Bafana Bafana squad:

Goalkeepers: Darren Keet (Bidvest Wits), Ronwen Williams (Supersport Utd), Bruce Bvuma (Kaizer Chiefs).

Defenders: Daniel Cardoso (Kaizer Chiefs), Rivaldo Coetzee (Sundowns), Aubrey Modiba (SS Utd), Thulani Hlatshwayo, Buhle Mkhwanazi, Sfiso Hlanti (Wits), Innocent Maela (Orlando Pirates), Thamsanqa Mkhize (CT City)

Midfielders: Bongani Zungu (Amiens), Hlompho Kekana, Themba Zwane, Tiyani Mabunda (Sundowns), Dean Furman (SS Utd), Kamohelo Mokotjo (Brentford), Thulani Serero (Vitesse FC), Thembinkosi Lorch (Pirates)

Strikers: Lebo Mothiba (Strasbourg), Percy Tau (Royal Union Saint), Lars Veldwijk (Sparta Rotterdam), Lebogang Maboe (Sundowns), Keagan Dolly (Montpellier)