<
>

Men's Olympic Games soccer bracket and fixtures schedule

Check out all the fixtures, venues and kick-off times for Men's Olympic Games soccer and the knockout bracket.

What is the Olympic Games format?

For the men's competition, nations submit a squad of under-23 players -- though up to three of those players can be overage. For example, France U23 have selected 35-year-old Tigres striker Andre-Pierre Gignac while Dani Ceballos, 24, of Arsenal will play for Spain U23. Former Barcelona wing-back Dani Alves, now 38 and playing for Sao Paulo, will feature for Brazil U23.

The 16 nations in Japan have been drawn into four groups of four teams. The top two in each group qualify for the knockout bracket, to play quarterfinals and semifinals, followed by a bronze medal playoff and a gold medal match.

- Men's standings | Women's bracket and fixtures | Women's standings

Fixtures, results and bracket

GROUP STAGE

Thursday, July 22
Group C: Egypt 0-0 Spain (3.30 a.m. ET / 7.30 a.m. GMT, Sapporo)
Group A: Mexico 4-1 France (4 a.m. ET / 8 a.m. GMT, Tokyo)
Group B: New Zealand 1-0 South Korea (4 a.m. ET / 8 a.m. GMT, Kashima)
Group D: Ivory Coast 2-1 Saudi Arabia (4.30 a.m. ET / 8.30 a.m. GMT, Yokohama)
Group C: Argentina 0-2 Australia (6.30 a.m. ET / 10.30 a.m. GMT, Sapporo)
Group B: Honduras 0-1 Romania (7 a.m. ET / 11 a.m. GMT, Kashima)
Group A: Japan 1-0 South Africa (7 a.m. ET / 11 a.m. GMT, Tokyo)
Group D: Brazil 4-2 Germany (7.30 a.m. ET / 11.30 a.m. GMT, Yokohama)

Sunday, July 25
Group C: Egypt vs. Argentina (3.30 a.m. ET / 7.30 a.m. GMT, Sapporo)
Group A: France vs. South Africa (4 a.m. ET / 8 a.m. GMT, Saitama)
Group B: New Zealand vs. Honduras (4 a.m. ET / 8 a.m. GMT, Kashima)
Group D: Brazil vs. Ivory Coast (4.30 a.m. ET / 8.30 a.m. GMT, Yokohama)
Group C: Australia vs. Spain (6.30 a.m. ET / 10.30 a.m. GMT, Sapporo)
Group A: Japan vs. Mexico (7 a.m. ET / 11 a.m. GMT, Saitama)
Group B: Romania vs. South Korea (7 a.m. ET / 11 a.m. GMT, Kashima)
Group D: Saudi Arabia vs. Germany (7.30 a.m. ET / 11.30 a.m. GMT, Yokohama)

Wednesday, July 28
Group D: Germany vs. Ivory Coast (4 a.m. ET / 8 a.m. GMT, Rifu)
Group D: Saudi Arabia vs. Brazil (4 a.m. ET / 8 a.m. GMT, Saitama)
Group B: Romania vs. New Zealand (4.30 a.m. ET / 8.30 a.m. GMT, Sapporo)
Group B: South Korea vs. Honduras (4.30 a.m. ET / 8.30 a.m. GMT, Yokohama)
Group C: Australia vs. Egypt (7 a.m. ET / 11 a.m. GMT, Rifu)
Group C: Spain vs. Argentina (7 a.m. ET / 11 a.m. GMT, Saitama)
Group A: France vs. Japan (7.30 a.m. ET / 11.30 a.m. GMT, Yokohama)
Group A: South Africa vs. Mexico (7.30 a.m. ET / 11.30 a.m. GMT, Sapporo)

BRACKET - QUARTERFINALS

Saturday, July 31
27 - Winner Group C vs. Runner-up Group D (4 a.m. ET / 8 a.m. GMT, Rifu)
25 - Winner Group A vs. Runner-up Group B (5 a.m. ET / 9 a.m. GMT, Kashima)
28 - Winner Group D vs. Runner-up Group C (6 a.m. ET / 10 a.m. GMT, Saitama)
26 - Winner Group B vs. Runner-up Group A (7 a.m. ET / 11 a.m. GMT, Yokohama)

BRACKET - SEMIFINALS

Tuesday, August 3
30 - Winner Match 26 vs. Winner Match 28 (4 a.m. ET / 8 a.m. GMT, Kashima)
29 - Winner Match 25 vs. Winner Match 27 (7 a.m. ET / 11 a.m. GMT, Saitama)

BRACKET - BRONZE MEDAL MATCH

Friday, August 6
Loser Match 29 vs. Loser Match 30 (7 a.m. ET / 11 a.m. GMT, Saitama)

BRACKET - GOLD MEDAL MATCH

Saturday, August 7
Winner Match 29 vs. Winner Match 30 (7.30 a.m. ET / 11.30 a.m. GMT, Yokohama)