Liverpool and Premier League players dominate FIFA 20 team of the year

Liverpool dominated the FIFA 20 team of the year with five of the starting XI, while there were seven players in total from the Premier League.

European champions Liverpool had the highest player representation with Alisson, Andy Robertson, Virgil van Dijk, Trent Alexander-Arnold and Sadio Mane included.

Two other Premier League players also made the list in Manchester City's Kevin De Bruyne and Chelsea's N'Golo Kante.

Only four players from outside the Premier League were nominated with no place for five-time Ballon d'Or winner Cristiano Ronaldo.

Barcelona's Lionel Messi and Frenkie de Jong were included in the team alongside Juventus' Matthijs de Ligt and Paris Saint-Germain's Kylian Mbappe.

De Jong and De Ligt had been two of the stars of the Ajax team which reached the Champions League semifinals as well as a domestic league and cup double.

Fans of the EA Sports video game were offered a list of 55 players from which they had to vote for their team of the year. The full final XI is as follows:

1. Alisson Becker
2. Andrew Robertson
3. Virgil van Dijk
4. Matthijs de Ligt
5. Trent Alexander-Arnold
6. Frenkie de Jong
7. Kevin De Bruyne
8. N'Golo Kante
9. Kylian Mbappe
10. Sadio Mane
11. Lionel Messi