Mohamed Salah, Kevin De Bruyne, Harry Kane lead PFA's Team of the Year

Kevin De Bruyne was among five players from Premier League champions Manchester City to be named to the PFA Premier League Team of the Year, with Liverpool's Mohamed Salah, the leading scorer, also among those honoured.

De Bruyne was joined by teammates Sergio Aguero, Kyle Walker, David Silva and Nicolas Otamendi in the team, chosen by players, reflecting City's dominance of the league all season.

Tottenham Hotspur's Harry Kane, Jan Vertonghen and Christian Eriksen were also selected, as were Manchester United's David De Gea and Chelsea's Marcos Alonso.

Salah, who has scored 30 goals in 32 appearances in his first season at Liverpool, is the favourite to be named the Player of the Year later this month. He became the first player to win the Premier League Player of the Month award three times in one season when he was recognised last week.

It was the first time Aguero has been selected, even though the forward, who joined City in 2011 and won the Premier League Golden Boot in 2014-15, has missed several games this season through injury.

De Bruyne, Silva, Kane, Salah and De Gea have all been shortlisted for the PFA's Player of the Year award, along with City's Leroy Sane.

There was no recognition for Burnley players, even though their club are challenging Arsenal for sixth place and they may qualify for European competition for the first time.

Information from the Press Association was used in this report.