World Rugby Breakthrough Player of the Year Award: Dyantyi, Larmour, Tu'inukuafe nominated

Tana Umaga and the Haka... (0:48)

Springboks winger Aphiwe Dyantyi explains his try-scoring celebration. (0:48)

Aphiwe Dyantyi has been nominated for World Rugby's Breakthrough Player of the Year Award for 2018.

The Lions and Springboks winger has been nominated for the award, for players who have played less than one year of senior international rugby, alongside Ireland winger Jordan Larmour and New Zealand prop Karl Tu'inukuafe.

Dyantyi marked his Springboks debut with a try against England in June, and he since scored five more tries in eight subsequent starts -- including a brace against both Argentina in Durban and New Zealand in Wellington.

Dyantyi, who made his Super Rugby debut with the Lions only this year, was the joint top try-scorer in the Rugby Championship with five.

Tu'inukuafe made his Test debut for the All Blacks against France in June, still a relative unknown having been playing playing for provincial side North Harbour and supplementing his income by working for a security firm. Waikato Super Rugby franchise the Chiefs selected him after injuries gutted their front-row stocks, and he was so impressive that All Blacks coach Steve Hansen went calling. He will play for the Blues next season.

Larmour made his Ireland debut against Italy in the Six Nations this year, and also featured against Scotland and in the Grand Slam win over England. He went on to play in all three games in Ireland's Test series win in Australia in June.

The wing/fullback also won the Champions Cup and Pro14 double after turning professional with Leinster in January, scoring a spectacular try in the Pro14 final victory over Scarlets.

"The World Rugby Breakthrough Player of the Year Award recognises the most exciting talent to burst onto the international 15s or sevens stage during the year and highlights the 'ones to watch'," World Rugby chairman Bill Beaumont said in a statement.

"There were several outstanding candidates and the process of whittling the selection down to a shortlist was tough for the panel. We have three outstanding candidates, who would be worthy recipients of this prestigious award."

The winner will be revealed at the World Rugby Awards in Monte Carlo on Nov. 25.

The award was been won previously by Nehe Milner-Skudder (2015), Maro Itoje (2016) and Rieko Ioane (2017).