Gareth Anscombe 'try': How TMO reached decision, what happens now

As World Rugby meets on Monday to conduct its review into England's victory over Wales on Saturday, top of the agenda will be the decision not to award Gareth Anscombe's first-half 'try'.

Warren Gatland suggested in the wake of his side's 12-6 defeat at Twickenham that he would seek clarity over the call, and his feedback, as well as that from England counterpart Eddie Jones, will feed into the process.

Wales headed back to Cardiff with a sense of injustice that could yet turn into motivation for the rest of the championship, as they head to Ireland in a fortnight's time.

"We were confident once we saw the first replay [that it was a try]," Anscombe, the man who was denied, said following Saturday's match. "We started jogging back, but there was a bit of a breakdown.

"We trust them [TMOs]. You've just got to back the individual to use the replays and hopefully they're communicating well with the touchies [touch judges] and the ref, and hopefully they get the majority of them right."

So, was TMO Glenn Newman right to advise referee Jerome Garces not to award the try? ESPN has a closer look at the decision.

Did Anscombe ground the ball?

Having watched the replays, Newman told Garces that the ball had "not been clearly grounded, the first grounding of the ball is by England."

This would suggest that the TMO either did not see the touch Anscombe got on the ball, or he did not think that the Wales fullback was in control of the ball.

Under current World Rugby laws, a try can be scored by an attacking player "pressing down on it with a hand or hands". Anscombe's right hand clearly gets to the ball before Watson is able to ground it.

There is no longer any mention of "downward pressure" in the law book, just that the attacking player is "first to ground the ball in the opponents' in-goal."

What were the main concerns with the decision?

It took Newman around 70 seconds from the potential grounding to making his decision not to award the try, while he did not appear to be given an angle that could have cleared it up.

The first camera followed Danny Care after he had collided with Steff Evans, and subsequent still photographs from behind the in-goal area appear to be more conclusive than the side-on replay.

"We'd looked at it ourselves in the box from a few different angles and we thought it was a try," Gatland said on Saturday. "We were surprised when the decision came."

Could Newman face any sanctions?

Newman's decision will form a large part of the official review, with submissions from both coaches, the match official team appraisal and input from the game's reviewer taken into consideration.

Should World Rugby find that Newman made a mistake then that could impact on his chances of future selection as a TMO but he is unlikely to face any other sanction.