Solomona, Francis and Underhill get nod as England call up 15 uncapped players

Borthwick explains Dylan Hartley Lions exclusion (0:58)

British & Irish Lions forwards coach says that Dylan Hartley was left out of the squad because of the mix of players they have at hooker. (0:58)

Eddie Jones has called up a remarkable 15 uncapped players for England's two-Test tour of Argentina with Sam Underhill, Piers Francis and Denny Solomona all getting the nod.

Dylan Hartley captains the team, which features a number of players who experienced British & Irish Lions disappointment, but this is a new-look 31-man squad with plenty of fresh faces.

Sam Underhill, the Ospreys flanker who's moving to Bath at the end of the season, is included as is Northampton-bound Blues fly-half Piers Francis.

Solomona, the cross-code star who has played 13 games of union for Sale, is selected after qualifying on residency grounds while there are also call ups for uncapped props Will Collier and Harry Williams, flankers Ben and Tom Curry and second-row Nick Isiekwe.

In the backs uncapped scrum-half Jack Maunder is set to make his international debut alongside fly-half Alex Lozowski, potential debutant wingers Joe Cokanasiga and Nathan Earle, centres Sam James and Joe Marchant and versatile back Harry Mallinder.

Alongside those new to international rugby are the experienced players who suffered Lions heartbreak on Wednesday. Hartley -- as one of two hookers -- heads up the team with James Haskell, Joe Launchbury, Chris Robshaw, Mike Brown, George Ford, Jonny May and Danny Care all included.

But there is no place in the squad for Wasps quintet Tommy Taylor, Christian Wade, Dan Robson, Joe Simpson and Danny Cipriani or Bath flyer Semesa Rokoduguni. Harlequins winger Marland Yarde is also left out as are Leicester flanker Mike Williams and Northampton's Teimana Harrison.

England play Argentina in San Juan on June 10 and then in Santa Fe on June 17 and Jones has also made changes to the coaching team with Steve Borthwick on Lions duty. He has drafted in Glen Ella to help with the backs once again after he went to Australia last June while Jones takes control of the forwards and Paul Gustard takes on responsibilities for the lineout.

"We have picked the best squad we have available and we are looking forward to going to Argentina and winning 2-0," said England head coach Jones. "The squad have a great opportunity to represent their country and win for England. There are a few new faces in the set-up so every training session and team meeting will count.

"The Pumas are a physically aggressive side and they have become very good at playing unstructured rugby; we need to make sure we control the structural part of the game and our defence will play an absolutely crucial role.

"Dylan Hartley will lead the side again having captained the team excellently during the RBS 6 Nations and will be supported by vice-captains Mike Brown, Danny Care and George Ford."

England squad:

Forwards: Will Collier (Harlequins), Luke Cowan-Dickie (Exeter Chiefs), Ben Curry (Sale Sharks), Tom Curry (Sale Sharks), Charlie Ewels (Bath Rugby), Ellis Genge (Leicester Tigers), Dylan Hartley - captain (Northampton Saints), James Haskell (Wasps), Paul Hill (Northampton Saints), Nathan Hughes (Wasps), Nick Isiekwe (Saracens), Joe Launchbury (Wasps), Matt Mullan (Wasps), Chris Robshaw (Harlequins), Sam Underhill (Ospreys/Bath Rugby), Harry Williams (Exeter Chiefs), Tom Wood (Northampton Saints).

Backs: Mike Brown - vice-captain (Harlequins), Danny Care - vice captain (Harlequins), Joe Cokanasiga (London Irish), Nathan Earle (Saracens), George Ford - vice captain (Bath Rugby), Piers Francis (Auckland Blues/Northampton Saints), Sam James (Sale Sharks), Alex Lozowski (Saracens), Harry Mallinder (Northampton Saints), Joe Marchant (Harlequins), Jack Maunder (Exeter Chiefs), Jonny May (Gloucester Rugby), Henry Slade (Exeter Chiefs), Denny Solomona (Sale Sharks).