South African sevens squad for Hong Kong

Jacques Olivier will captain the South African Sevens squad that will represent South Africa at the IRB World Sevens Series tournaments in Hong Kong on 30 March - 1 April and in Shanghai on 7 and 8 April respectively.

The SA squad is: Herman Mostert, Jacques Olivier (captain), Helgard Brink, Wayne van Heerden, Johan van Niekerk, Marius Schoeman, Paul Treu, Johan Calitz, Jorrie Muller, Fabian Juries, Conrad Jantjes, Andries Fourie. Management: Norman Mbiko (coach), Ian McIntosh (technical advisor), Oregan Hoskins (manager), Greg Mackenzie (physiotherapist).

South Africa are seeded first in Pool F in Hong Kong. South Africa will meet the second seeded United States, who greatly impressed at the Wellington Sevens, in their opening match. Thailand and Chinese Taipei also feature in Pool F.

"We've got a favourable draw and have a good chance to more than do well, "Mbiko said. "Mac has been most valuable in our preparation and with Jacques Olivier captaining the side, we have a lot of experience in critical areas."

McIntosh is also looking forward to his involvement with the team. "It could be very exciting to play sevens for South Africa. A lot of prominent players came through the sevens ranks. Andre Venter, Joost van der Westhuizen, Chester Williams, Bob Skinstad, you name them.

"Proper structures have been put in place and we can now motivate players to play for their country. Therefore I'm so glad that Laurie Mains was prepared to lend Conrad Jantjes to us, but with the understanding that he will immediately be available for the Cats if he is needed," McIntosh said.

"Hopefully this is the start of a new liaison between Super 12 coaches and the sevens code, where the bigger picture will always be in focus."

Four players, most notably Andre Pretorius and Gcobani Bobo, are injured and were not considered. Thobela Mdaka (broken finger) and Monwabisi Mdyesha (broken ribs) are the other two.