Argentina name experienced 31-man Rugby World Cup squad

Juan Martin Fernandez Lobbe. ALEJANDRO PAGNI/AFP/Getty Images

Argentina coach Daniel Hourcade has picked his final 31-man squad for the Rugby World Cup, which includes five players aiming to play in their third tournament.

Bath wing Horacio Agulla, Leicester prop Marcos Ayerza, Toulon back-row Juan Martin Fernandez Lobbe, Juan Martin Hernandez and Juan Manuel Leguizamón are those chasing a hat-trick of appearances, in a squad named in the wake of the Pumas' 26-12 defeat to South Africa.

Hourcade has also included Saracens centre Marcelo Bosch, Newcastle centre Juan Pablo Socino and Gloucester lock Mariano Galarza, despite the latter carrying an injury.

Galarza and Ramiro Herrera are both expected to be fit in time for the Pumas' warm-up match with Leicester on Sep. 5, the coach confirmed.

Hourcade revealed it had been tough to whittle down his squad to a final 31, but lauded the strength of his selection, saying it gave him "the possibility of having two teams".

Argentina have been drawn in Pool C and open their campaign against New Zealand at Wembley on Sep. 20.

Argentina Rugby World Cup squad

Forwards: Matthias Alemanno, Marcos Ayerza, Agustin Creevy, Matias Diaz, Juan Martin Fernandez Lobbe, Mariano Galarza, Ramiro Herrera, Facundo Isa, Thomas Lavanini, Juan Manuel Leguizamón, Paul Matera, Julian Montoya, Lucas Noguera, Javier Ortega Desio, Guido Petti Pagadizabal, Leonardo Senatore, Nahuel Tetaz Chaparro.

Backs: Horacio Agulla, Marcelo Bosch, Cordero Santiago, Thomas Cubelli, Jerónimo de la Fuente, Lucas González Amorosino, Santiago González Iglesias, Juan Martin Hernandez, Juan Imhoff, Martin Landajo, Matías Moroni, Nicolas Sanchez, Juan Pablo Socino, Joaquín Tuculet.