Horse Racing

/ News

  • Horse Racing
  • Two more Australian trainers face bans
  • Jan 14, 2015: Two leading Australian racehorse trainers are facing investigations after more horses tested positive for the banned substance cobalt chloride

  • Horse Racing
  • Hurricane Fly gets the better of Jezki again
  • Dec 29, 2014: Hurricane Fly got the better of old rival Jezki once again as he extended his world record to 21 Group One victories in the renewal of the Ryanair Hurdle at Leopardstown

  • Horse Racing
  • Goodwood signs historic sponsorship deal
  • Dec 22, 2014: Goodwood racecourse has signed the biggest single sponsorship deal in British horseracing history - reportedly worth £2 million a year over the next decade

  • Horse Racing
  • Grand National winner Mania retires at 25
  • Nov 25, 2014: Ryan Mania, the 2013 Grand National-winning jockey, has announced his retirement at the age of 25 because he no longer "gets a kick out of winning"

  • Breeders Cup
  • Bayern battles through to win Breeders Cup Classic
  • Nov 2, 2014: The Breeders' Cup Classic began like a demolition derby, with horses crashing into each other out of the starting gate. It ended with Hall of Fame trainer Bob Baffert winning North America's richest race for the first time

  • Prix de L'Arc de Triomphe
  • Arc legend Treve to retire after consecutive wins
  • Oct 6, 2014: Treve hailed as 'the best' by trainer Criquette Head-Maarek after becoming the first horse to win the Prix de L'Arc de Triomphe for the second year in a row since 1978.

  • Horse Racing
  • McGrath and Walton facing corruption hearing
  • Sep 17, 2014: Scottish Grand National-winning jockey Richie McGrath and former trainer Kate Walton have been charged with breaching betting rules by the British Horseracing Authority and could face a ban of up to 10 years from the sport if found guilty

  • Glorious Goodwood
  • Sultanina triumphs in Nassau Stakes
  • Aug 2, 2014: Sultanina won the Nassau Stakes on the final day at Glorious Goodwood to deliver a third consecutive triumph in the race for trainer John Gosden

Top of the PageTop