- PGA Tour
Woods unimpressed by 'cheating' apology
Tiger Woods put the heat on Golf Channel over analyst Brandel Chamblee's insinuation of cheating, saying that he was ready to move forward and that it would be up to what Golf Channel was prepared to do.
Woods spoke publicly for the first time since Chamblee, a longtime critic of the world's No. 1 player, wrote a column for Golf.com in which he gave Woods an "F" for his five-win season because of a series of rules violations.
Chamblee wrote that Woods was "a little cavalier with the rules," and he made the analogy of the time his fourth-grade teacher crossed out "100" and gave him an "F" for cheating on in a maths test. Chamblee last week tweeted that the cheating comparison went too far, and he apologised to Woods for "this incited discourse."
"All I am going to say is that I know I am going forward," Woods said before his exhibition match with Rory McIlroy at Mission Hills. "But then, I don't know what the Golf Channel is going to do or not. But then that's up to them. The whole issue has been very disappointing, as he didn't really apologise and he sort of reignited the whole situation.
"So the ball really is in the court of the Golf Channel and what they are prepared to do."
Golf Channel has not commented on the flap. Chamblee is an analyst, but he wrote his column about Woods as a contributor to another publication. Chamblee has said he was not asked to apologise by anyone.
Woods' agent, Mark Steinberg, was so incensed by the column that he issued a statement to ESPN.com that raised the possibility of legal action. Steinberg shared his client's views.
"I'm all done talking about it, and it's now in the hands of the Golf Channel," Steinberg said. "That's Tiger's view and that's mine, and all we want to do is move forward. And whether the Golf Channel moves forward as well, then we'll have to wait and see."
Woods accepted a two-shot penalty in Abu Dhabi for taking relief from an embedded ball in a sandy area covered with vegetation. Augusta National gave him a two-shot penalty for taking the wrong drop in the second round of the Masters. And the PGA Tour gave him a two-shot penalty after his second round of the BMW Championship when video evidence showed that his ball moved slightly from behind the first green. Even after watching the video, Woods insisted that his ball only oscillated.
Also in question - at least on Internet blogs - was the drop Woods took on the 14th hole of the TPC Sawgrass during the final round of The Players Championship. Woods checked with playing partner Casey Wittenberg on where to take the penalty drop, which is standard procedure. Wittenberg said it was the correct spot.
Download ESPN's new UK sport app, a fresh and powerful new way to follow your favourite UK sports news, scores and video.
This article first appeared on ESPN.com