Eighteen German cities willing to host Euro 2024 fixtures

Eighteen cities have applied to the German Football Association (DFB) to be part of its bid to host the 2024 European Championship.

The cities are Berlin, Bremen, Dortmund, Dresden, Dusseldorf, Frankfurt, Freiburg, Gelsenkirchen, Hamburg, Hanover, Kaiserslautern, Karlsruhe, Cologne, Leipzig, Monchengladbach, Munich, Nuremberg and Stuttgart.

"The response shows the great enthusiasm for a European Championship in Germany and it underlines that we have a first-class stadium infrastructure for such a tournament," DFB president Reinhard Grindel said.

Grindel said Germany can have a "cost-effective and sustainable" tournament as "hardly a hectare would need to be sealed off for construction work."

The DFB will work with Transparency International to choose the 10 cities ahead of the UEFA decision in September 2018.

UEFA set a March 3 deadline for federations to express interest, with the candidates to be announced a week later.

The DFB will present the requirements to the potential host cities on April 11, and those still interested must submit their final applications by June 12.

Germany is seen as the favoUrite to host Euro 2024 after reaching a deal with England to withdraw from competing to host the Euro 2020 semifinals and final. A combined Scandinavian bid has also been suggested.