Pirelli announces 2018 tyre testing plans

SAKHIR, Bahrain -- Pirelli has scheduled 25 days of testing across eight different circuits with all of Formula One's ten teams in order to develop next year's slick and wet weather tyres.

The test days were granted under the sporting regulations and will see the current cars on track at various times throughout the year testing different types of tyres.

Unlike last year when just Mercedes, Ferrari and Red Bull tested the prototypes for this year's tyres with mule cars, all 10 teams will take part in the testing at some point. As with last year the tests will be "blind" with run plans set by Pirelli so that the teams and drivers are unaware of which type of tyres they are using.

The schedule will kick off at the pre-agreed in-season test in Bahrain next week for a single day with Ferrari, before a series of tests after that both as stand-alone events and after certain races. French circuits Paul Ricard, which will host a race in 2018 and has wet weather testing facilities, and Magny Cours, which last held a race in 2008, will host tests in the European summer.