Channel 4 secures UK free-to-air deal for Monaco Grand Prix

Sutton Images

UK broadcaster Channel 4 has confirmed the Monaco Grand Prix will be shown live on terrestrial television in Britain for the first time in five years.

The race last appeared on free-to-air television on the BBC in 2012 and has since been exclusively broadcast live on Sky Sports. With Channel 4 and Sky announcing on Thursday how their live races will be divided in 2017, Monaco has got the nod for a first live appearance on Channel 4 since it took over the BBC's former broadcasting deal with FOM at the end of 2015.

As part of its three-year-deal which runs until 2019, Channel 4 will broadcast ten grands prix live, with delayed highlights of all ten remaining races in 2017.

In other changes, the Singapore and the United States Grand Prix will be broadcast live on Channel 4, while it has dropped live coverage from Spain, Hungary, Italy and Mexico.

Sky will show the opening two races of 2017 in Australia and China exclusively live, with Channel 4 beginning its live coverage at the Bahrain Grand Prix on April 16.

Stephen Lyle, Channel 4 Head of F1 said: "Following a thrilling first year covering Formula One, we're delighted to reveal our schedule for the 2017 season. Once again our team will bring extensive coverage of every race with The Monaco Grand Prix, Great Britain and the finale in Abu Dhabi among our ten Live race weekends. It's a particular delight to welcome Monaco back to terrestrial television Live, for the first time in five years."

Live UK F1 schedule

Australia - March 26 (Sky only)

China - April 9 (Sky only)

Bahrain - April 16 (Sky and Channel 4)

Russia - April 30 (Sky and Channel 4)

Spain - May 14 (Sky only)

Monaco - May 28 (Sky and Channel 4)

Canada - June 11 (Sky Only)

Azerbaijan - June 25 (Sky and Channel 4)

Austria - July 9 (Sky only)

Great Britain - July 16 (Sky and Channel 4)

Hungary - July 30 (Sky only)

Belgium - August 27 (Sky and Channel 4)

Italy - September 3 (Sky only)

Singapore - September 17 (Sky and Channel 4)

Malaysia - October 1 (Sky and Channel 4)

Japan - October 8 (Sky only)

USA - October 22 (Sky and Channel 4)

Mexico - October 29 (Sky only)

Brazil - November 12 (Sky only)

Abu Dhabi - November 26 (Sky and Channel 4)