2017 F1 calendar confirmed; Germany gone, Baku moved to avoid Le Mans clash

Getty Images/Getty Images

The 20-race 2017 Formula One calendar has been confirmed, with Baku moved back a week to avoid clashing with Le Mans and the German Grand Prix gone altogether.

As reported during the Abu Dhabi Grand Prix weekend, Hockenheim's place on the calendar has gone after circuit chiefs failed to reach an agreement with F1 boss Bernie Ecclestone. It means Germany once again has no F1 race -- as was the case in 2015 -- despite the fact Nico Rosberg and Mercedes will be defending their respective titles in 2017.

The Baku street race -- renamed the Azerbaijan Grand Prix after bizarrely joining the calendar this year as the Grand Prix of Europe -- has been pushed back a week to avoid clashing with the Le Mans 24 Hours again. It will now take place on June 25, avoiding the logistical nightmare of 2016 which saw it go back-to-back with Canada.

That Le Mans clash this year meant Nico Hulkenberg was unable to defend the title he won with Porsche in 2015, when Force India allowed him to compete in two World Endurance Championship events alongside his F1 commitments.

The Austrian Grand Prix and British Grand Prix remain back-to-back but have both shifted one week back, meaning the latter clashes with Formula E's New York race and the men's tennis final at Wimbleon. Germany's disappearance from the calendar means Hungary moves back a week to July 30, which is then followed by the traditional four-week break. That ends with the Belgium-Italy double header at the end of August and start of September.

Singapore has remained in the same place as 2016, between Italy and Malaysia, despite being listed as the first race of a back-to-back with Japan in the provisional calendar released earlier this year.

Canada and Brazil, which had been listed as provisional in that original calendar, are now both set to go ahead as originally scheduled.

The calendar in full:

  • March 26, Melbourne, Australia

  • April 9, Shanghai, China

  • April 16, Sakhir, Bahrain

  • April 30, Sochi, Russia

  • May 14, Barcelona, Spain

  • May 28, Monte Carlo, Monaco

  • June 11, Montreal, Canada

  • June 25, Baku, Azerbaijan

  • July 9, Spielberg, Austria

  • July 16, Silverstone, Great Britain

  • July 30, Budapest, Hungary

  • August 27, Spa-Francorchamps, Belgium

  • September 3, Monza, Italy

  • September 17, Marina Bay, Singapore

  • October 1, Sepang, Malaysia

  • October 8, Suzuka, Japan

  • October 22, Austin, USA

  • October 29, Mexico City, Mexico

  • November 12, Sao Paulo, Brazil*

  • November 26, Abu Dhabi, UAE

*Subject to confirmation