Ask Steven: How many GP2 champions have gone on to F1?

Andrew Hone/Getty Images

There has been a lot talk about how Stoffel Vandoorne, this year's GP2 champion, is a future world champion. But how many GP2 champions have gone on to F1? asked Mark Hartwell

The GP2 series was instituted in 2005, as a replacement for Formula 3000, which for many years had been the next step down from F1. And the first two winners were pretty handy: Nico Rosberg was the inaugural GP2 champion, while Lewis Hamilton won the second one in 2006.

The current F1 grid includes three other GP2 champions: Nico Hulkenberg (2009), Pastor Maldonado (2010) and Romain Grosjean (2011). Timo Glock, who won in 2007, had a long F1 career too, but hasn't raced in a Grand Prix since 2012.

The 23-year-old Belgian Stoffel Vandoorne, this year's champion, was second last year too, behind Britain's Jolyon Palmer, with Felipe Nasr - a Sauber driver this year - in third place. Vandoorne has won five rimes already this year, and is over 100 points clear of second-placed Alexander Rossi with four races left.