Next LIVE rugby on TV
to be announced
Wed, 31 Jul 2013 14:30:05 +0000
  • Switch Edition
ESPN SCRUM / England / News
2014 Women's Rugby World Cup
12 changes for England ahead of Spain
ESPN Staff
August 4, 2014
Lydia Thompson keeps her places in the side after an impressive performance against Samoa © Getty Images

Gary Street has made 12 changes to the England side ahead of Tuesday's match against Spain in Marcoussis.

England opened up their 2014 Women's Rugby World Cup campaign on Friday with a commanding 65-3 win and Street has opted to shuffle his pack ahead of their next game against Spain, who fell to Canada in the opening round.

Sarah Hunter captains the side and she is joined in the back-row by Marlie Packer and Alexandra Matthews. Claire Purdy, Victoria Fleetwood and Sophie Hemming form the front-row with Joanna McGilchrist and Rebecca Essex packing down in the locks. La Toya Mason starts at scrum-half and takes on the vice-captaincy with Ceri Large joining her in the half-backs.

The back five sees Lydia Thompson, who scored two tries against Samoa, Amber Reed, Claire Allen, Kay Wilson and Danielle Waterman starting.

"Because of the schedule of the World Cup it's key that we rotate our players," Street said. "Having a game every four days is hugely physically and mentally demanding so our strategy is to rotate the squad and keep the players fresh.

"Rotating the squad means Sarah Hunter is captain for this game and she brings a wealth of knowledge to the role. This is a very different looking team to the squad that defeated Samoa but there are still 575 caps shared between our starting XVs so this is by no means an inexperienced team. We have got the depth so we are going to use it.

"It is exciting to bring back Alex Matthews who has been out for a while with injury. She has been outstanding in our training camps over the last couple of months. Alex is a dynamic ball carrier and gives us another huge physical presence in the back-row."


Danielle Waterman (Bristol), Kay Wilson (Bristol), Claire Allan (Richmond), Amber Reed (Bristol), Lydia Thompson (Worcester), Ceri Large (Worcester), La Toya Mason (Wasps) VC, Claire Purdy (Wasps), Victoria Fleetwood (Lichfield), Sophie Hemming (Bristol), 4 Joanna McGilchrist (Wasps), Rebecca Essex (Richmond), Sarah Hunter (Lichfield) C, Marlie Packer (Wasps), Alexandra Matthews (Richmond)

Replacements: Emma Croker (Richmond), Laura Keates (Worcester), Tamara Taylor (Darlington Mowden Park Sharks), Heather Fisher (Worcester), Natasha Hunt (Lichfield), Rachael Burford (Thurrock), Emily Scarratt (Lichfield)

© ESPN Sports Media Ltd

Live Sports

Communication error please reload the page.

  • Golf

    R&A votes to admit female members at St Andrews

    The Royal and Ancient Golf Club of St Andrews will allow female members for the first time in its 260-year history after an overwhelming vote in favour of admittance

  • Football

    Fulham give manager Magath the axe

    Fulham have confirmed the departure of manager Felix Magath, with owner Shahid Khan installing under-21 coach Kit Symons as caretaker boss of the struggling Championship club

  • Tennis

    Murray: Vote will not affect Team GB commitments

    British No.1 Andy Murray says he will still represent Great Britain in the 2015 Davis Cup regardless of which way the vote swings in the Scottish Referendum

  • Formula 1

    Drivers react to radio clampdown

    With much of the focus leading up to the Singapore Grand Prix surrounding the FIA's decision to restrict the amount of team to driver radio communications, F1's drivers have been reacting to the changes

  • Athletics

    Four Britons nominated for European Athlete of the Year

    Mo Farah, Greg Rutherford and Martin Rooney have all been nominated for male European Athlete of the Year while fellow Briton Eilidh Child is among the women's nominees

Sponsored Links
Make $170 in 60 seconds!
Google Vs Facebook, 60 sec. knock out! Choose a champion, Become a Winner!
Make $25 in 1 Minute!
Start trading with the biggest broker! Register now to receive $25 for FREE!