Chris Froome maintains Vuelta lead as Vincenzo Nibali closes the gap

Chris Froome maintained the red jersey as Rafal Majka claimed victory on stage 14. JAIME REINA/AFP/Getty Images

Chris Froome retained the Vuelta a Espana lead as Bora-Hansgrohe's Rafal Majka soloed to victory on Stage 14 from Ecija to Sierra de La Pandera.

Team Sky rider Froome, who is bidding to become only the third rider to win La Vuelta and the Tour de France in the same year, crossed the line 31 seconds down on the Polish rider after the 175-kilometer stage.

However, Froome's lead was trimmed by four seconds as Vincenzo Nibali [Bahrain-Merida], second overall, pipped him to third place on the day, picking up four bonus seconds on the line. The Italian now trails Froome by 55 seconds.

Majka had been part of a breakaway which featured double figures at one stage and he made the decisive move with 10 km remaining and was able to hang on during the final climb.

Majka crossed the line 27 seconds ahead of Astana's Miguel Angel Lopez, with Nibali and Froome following four seconds further back.

Katusha's Ilnur Zakarin was next ahead of Alberto Contador [Trek-Sagafredo] and Esteban Chaves [Orica-Scott], dropping the latter further behind Froome in the overall standings as he was 26 seconds behind the Briton.

With Chaves losing time, Team Sunweb's Wilco Kelderman moved up third in the standings, two minutes 17 seconds behind Froome, with Ilnur fourth at two minutes 25 seconds and Chaves fifth, a further 14 seconds back.