Bangladesh's bowlers get workout on second day

Mustafizur Rahman led Bangladesh's bowling on day three Getty Images

A majority of the Bangladesh bowlers had a good outing on day two of their tour match against Cricket South Africa Invitation XI in Benoni. All the frontline bowling options took at least one wicket each with seamers Mustafizur Rahman and Subashis Roy particularly showing good control.

Resuming from an overnight 21 for 1, the hosts moved to 313 for 8, securing a slender seven-run first-innings lead, before declaring their innings. Bangladesh openers Liton Das and Imrul Kayes then safely negotiated three overs to close the day.

Mustafizur and Subashis bowled seven maidens each, while the spinners Mehidy Hasan and Taijul Islam were also among the wickets. Bangladesh, though, will be concerned about the form of Shafiul Islam and Taskin Ahmed, who conceded at at least five runs an over.

However, they will be pleased with the arrival of Rubel Hossain, who joined the squad late because of a visa-related issue.

For the home side, Zubayr Hamza, Mathew Christensen and Shaun von Berg struck fifties while Matthew Breetzke and Migael Pretorius pitched in with forties.

  • Sabbir, Kayes warm up with fifties

    The match ended in a draw after both teams decided the home side will not bat in their second innings with more than two hours of play left on the final day

  • Bangladesh's bowlers get workout on second day

    Seamers Mustafizur Rahman and Subashis Roy bowled seven maidens each and showed good control while Shafiul Islam and Taskin Ahmed were more expensive

  • Mominul, Mushfiqur, Sabbir warm up with fifties

    Bangladesh declared their first innings on 306 for 7 after time well-spent on their first day back in South Africa since 2008 on the opening day of their three-day warm-up fixture against a CSA Invitation XI

Bangladesh 3rd innings Partnerships

1st9Imrul KayesLiton Das
2nd71Imrul KayesMominul Haque
3rd11Mushfiqur RahimMominul Haque
4th5MahmudullahMominul Haque
5th52MahmudullahSabbir Rahman
6th30Sabbir RahmanMehidy Hasan Miraz
7th22Sabbir RahmanTaijul Islam
8th1Shafiul IslamTaijul Islam
9th22Taijul IslamTaskin Ahmed
10th12Subashis RoyTaskin Ahmed