• Light-welterweight

Khan not planning to retire despite Froch suggestion

ESPN staff
July 15, 2012 « Sanchez wins controversial Stage 14 | Chartbeat test »

Amir Khan has no plans to retire, despite fellow Brit Carl Froch insisting the light-welterweight should hang up his gloves following defeat to Danny Garcia.

Khan was stunned by Garcia on Saturday night, suffering a bruising fourth-round stoppage. Not for the first time the Khan chin came under the spotlight, and his immediate future is lacking direction.

The plan had been for Khan to defeat Garcia to become the unified light-welterweight world champion, before moving up a division to challenge Floyd Mayweather Jr. That now seems a pipe dream, and Froch suggests Khan should retire.

"I would retire if that happened to me," Froch told Radio 5 Live's Sportsweek programme. "Why? Because I am not in this sport to get beaten, knocked out, or outclassed.

"It's a personal decision whether or not you retire, but to get stopped in the fourth round and to be previously knocked out, it's just very, very damaging."

Noises coming out of Khan's camp, however, suggest the Brit will not even contemplate Froch's suggestion. Golden Boy Promotions CEO Richard Schaefer claims a future bout with Mayweather is still possible, predicting the styles of the fighters would make for "fireworks".

Trainer Freddie Roach is focusing on smaller fry for now, with a Garcia rematch high on his agenda.

"Amir said he will be back and hopefully Danny Garcia will come to England and maybe fight us over there," Roach said. "We were fighting a good fight and all of a sudden, one punch changed it and in boxing you never know. I guess I have to also congratulate Mr [Angel] Garcia also."

Angel Garcia is the father and trainer of Garcia, who had plenty to say to Khan in the build-up to the fight. Asked if a rematch was possible, Garcia Sr completely ruled out such a prospect.

"Why give him a rematch? For what?" Garcia Sr said. "He disrespected Danny when he took him as an opponent. He thought he was a pushover. We're not giving him a rematch."

© ESPN Sports Media Ltd.
Close