British relay teams presented with belated medals at World Champs

Christine Ohuruogu received World Championship medals from 2009, 2011 and 2013. Patrick Smith/Getty Images

Great Britain received three medals before the World Championships even got under way at the London Stadium on Friday.

The women's 4x400 metres relay teams from three successive World Championships -- Berlin 2009, Daegu 2011 and Moscow 2013 -- were presented with medals denied them at the time by Russian teams later disqualified for doping.

Christine Ohuruogu, not competing in these championships, took to the podium three times in her home city, collecting bronze medals from 2009 and 2011 and a silver from 2013.

The 2008 Olympic 400m champion, 33, now has 12 major outdoor global medals. The 2009 team also included Lee McConnell, Victoria Barr and Nicola Sanders, while the 2011 quartet also featured McConnell, Sanders and Perri Shakes-Drayton.

The other 2013 medallists were Eilidh Doyle, the British team captain at London 2017, Shana Cox and Margaret Adeoye.

In total, 11 individual athletes and five teams from across 11 events at four previous World Championships have accepted invitations to receive their reallocated medals in London.

Jo Pavey will receive her 10,000m bronze from 2007 Worlds on Saturday and Jessica Ennis-Hill her heptathlon gold from 2011 the following evening.

Russia remains banned from international athletics due to state-sponsoring doping, although a handful of Russians will compete as neutrals in London after being cleared to do so by world athletics governing body the IAAF.